Swafield & Bradfield Parish Council

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It’s easy. Just click “Edit Text” or double click me to add your own content and make changes to the font. Feel free to drag and drop me anywhere you like on your page. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

Swafield & Bradfield Parish Councillors

Ernie Alexander

Pevensey, The Street, Swafield, NR28 0RQ 


John Amies

Riverlean, The Street, Swafield, NR28 0RQ


Bob Clabon

Rookery Farm, Mundesley Road, North Walsham, NR28 0RF 


Timothy Payne (ViceChairman)

Swafield Hall, Knapton Road, Swafield, NR28 0RP


Gaynor Rawlings

The Cottage, The Street, Swafield, NR28 0RJ


Michael Starling

Medadowsweet Cottage, Bradfield Rd, Swafield, NR28 0RH


Charlie Silvester (Chairman)

Wayside, The Street, Swafield, NR28 0RQ

In a Meeting

The Role of a Councillor


A councillor is a member of the council and is normally elected for a term of four years.  People of any political or religious persuasion are eligible to become a councillor, although their personal views should not extend into their parish council work. A councillor is an unpaid voluntary role.

They are elected to represent the interests of the local community as a whole and promote a harmonious local environment. The number of elected councillors depends on the size of the area. In Swafield and Bradfield we are able to have 7 councillors.


Local councils are the first tier of governance and are the first point of contact for anyone concerned with a community issue. They are democratically elected local authorities and exist in England, Wales and Scotland. The term ‘local council’ is synonymous with ‘parish council’, ‘town council’ and ‘community council’.